Home, sweet home …

home_by_dechobek

‘Home’ by dechobek

Today I feel in harmony with the Universe. Why? You may find it stupid, but today’s word by A.W.A.D. encompasses two concepts that are particularly dear to us Italians and inspiring the best feelings: God and home. The term draws its origin from those pagan gods, which were believed to protect a house and their inhabitants. With the passing of time and the disappearing of this pagan worship, this expression was used by extension to define the ‘treasures of one’s home’. As descendant of the ancient Latins, I should be able to provide the Italian translation of this expression, but I must admit that I can’t find an equivalent in my native language (strange but true). Sometimes we Italians tend to lose our roots in our effort of ’embracing the world’.

lares and penates

PRONUNCIATION:
(LAR-eez and puh-NAY-teez)
MEANING:
noun:
1. Household gods (the benevolent gods in an ancient Roman household).
2. Household goods (a family’s treasured possessions).
ETYMOLOGY:
From Latin Lares et Penates, from Lares, plural of Lar (in Roman mythology, the deity or spirit who protected a household) + et (and) + Penates (deities of the household that were believed to bring wealth), from penus (provisions, interior of a house). Earliest documented use: 1616.
USAGE:
But let’s face it, the nearest thing that many Aussies have in the way of religion, or, as it is labelled with new-age vagueness, spirituality, are those little do-it-yourself offerings to the roadside gods, the lares and penates of the new-age pantheists.”
The Soft Toy Taking on a Religious Symbolism; The Canberra Times (Australia); Jan 14, 2006.
The storehouse of all the shame and vulnerability in Ben’s life would be locked; a private museum of curios with but one visitor, himself, to stare at the degraded and rejected lares and penates.”
Kate Fillion; The Artful Forgery of the Self; The Toronto Star (Canada); Feb 6, 1993.
Last … and least!
Driven by the evocative power of this image, today I’m going to offer you my valuable (LOL) thought: this is Ani’s home (the old woman in the pic). Ani’s home’s made out of cardboard, Ani’s treasure’s her cat. Her household treasures, her sole ‘lares and penates’. Funny how the idea of ‘home’ can vary depending on which side of the ‘fence’ you are sitting on. And how strange life is, you may sit on a heap of gold and don’t even imagine. As I wrote in a comment to the author of this photo (dechobek on deviantART), “we are lucky people but often we don’t know (or don’t want to know). Instead, Ani knows how fortunate we are …
Lots of love, dear Ani, poor child of a lesser God!
4 responses to “Home, sweet home …

  1. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for novice blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • Probably WP did (or probably I did it myself since WP flagged it as spam). Anyway, I’m a novice myself, so the only suggestion I can give you is: write about what you really like, e.g. SEO techniques – since I see you call yourself ‘SEO expert’, or what you like to do in your spare time, e.g. books, travel, films, design. Much depends on the reason why you are keeping your blog (if it’s for work, then you should apply your SEO skills). No matter how you write it, it’s important that you really have fun with it! Good luck and all the best!
      P.S. Probably you can give me hints about how to improve my blog from a SEO point of view …

  2. I simply want to mention I am just beginner to blogging and site-building and actually savored your web site. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You certainly come with good articles. Thanks for revealing your blog site.

  3. I just want to tell you that I’m beginner to blogs and definitely enjoyed your blog site. Likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You definitely have beneficial posts. Regards for revealing your web-site.

Leave a Reply

