When the going gets tough …

seven_deadly_sins__gluttony_by_millertanya-d4ilubo

‘Seven deadly sins: Gluttony‘ by Tanya Miller

Good morning, folks

Today the challenge’s really awkward to me and I guess the whole week’s gonna be tough. A. Word.A.Day.’s  team truly did their best to collect the most uncommon and freaky selection, words that would surely get lost somehow in translation. I’ve been browsing any sort of dictionary to find out the exact equivalent, but it’s a damn superhuman effort. And what about the title? Gosh, thanks God I’m a music lover, so music came to my aid. I guess I don’t need to tell you that my tagline is inspired by a famous hit by Billy Ocean, When the going gets tough, the tough get going … I don’t need to if you are quite long in the tooth and/or you like cheerful blockbusters of the eighties. Why this title? Well, first of all, ‘my‘ going’s getting tough with this word.  Secondly, the going’s surely tough for someone of this kind …

fustilarian

PRONUNCIATION:
(fuhs-tuh-LAR-ee-uhn)
MEANING:
noun: A fat and slovenly person.
ETYMOLOGY:
From Middle English fusty (smelly, moldy). Earliest documented use: 1600.
NOTES:
The first recorded use of the word is from Shakespeare’s Henry IV in which Falstaff exclaims, “Away, you scullion! You rampallion! You fustilarian! I’ll tickle your catastrophe.”
USAGE:
I’ve no fancy to be guzzled up by a wolf or spitted on the tusks of one of the fustilarian wild boars.
Joan Aiken; Whispering Mountain; Starscape; 2002.
Italian translation:  Maybe laido ciccione?
About the image on top: Quite impressive, dont’ you think so? It’s about gluttony, one of the Seven Deadly Sins. I thought the ‘weight’ of the word deserved a powerful illustration. This is awfully strong in many ways, at least in my opinion:  it’s about vice – it recalls Hell – its composition is terribly complex and many-sided  – it’s a work of fine execution.
I hope this image won’t hurt the sensibility of my readers, my intention wasn’t to criticize or preach on any behaviour or condition. If you perceived some criticism in my words or illustrations, please accept my sincerest apologies, it was really unintentional.
See you soon …
Your passionate (Italian) Translator
Leave a Reply

