Let’s get started!

Question_Mark_____by_pinkx2

Question Mark by Pink McPinkerton

A.K.A A.Word.A.Day Digest #1

Good evening, my dear readers!

… or should I say ‘good anytime’, considering that you might be reading me in any corner of the world? Third post today, my personal record! I suppose you are now puzzled … what’s the reason of this post?

At this point I need to explain you what I’m going to do in the next few weeks – if I succeed in my endeavour, of course! As many of you will surely remember, I’ve been away for a while in the past summer months partly due to my being on holiday, partly due to work. I’m going to catch up on lost time. I think I told you in some of my recent posts that I’m going to publish some ‘digests’ on past A.Word.A.Day. selections. Today’s one is focused on ‘Words that have many unrelated meanings’, July 2013. Part one.

Enjoy!

Your passionate (Italian) Translator

mensal

PRONUNCIATION: (MEN-suhl)

MEANING:
adjective:
1. Monthly.
2. Relating to the table.
ETYMOLOGY:
For 1: From Latin mensis (month). Earliest documented use: 1475.
For 2: From Latin mensa (table). Earliest documented use: 1440.
USAGE:
“I refer to your addled account of an exchange between you and Mike Butler relative to mensal checks from home.”
John Lewis-Stempel; Fatherhood; Simon & Schuster; 2001.”Daphne was good at mensal ceremony; her each gesture and nibble, each sip from her tea bowl, was as graceful as a small ballet.”
John C. Wright; The Golden Age; Tor Books; 2003.
ITALIAN TRANSLATION: (rar) mensile.

sconce

PRONUNCIATION: (skons)

MEANING:
noun:
1. An ornamental bracket for holding candles or lights.
2. The head or skull.
3. Sense or wit.
4. A small fort or defensive earthwork to defend a bridge, castle-gate, etc.
ETYMOLOGY:
For 1: From Latin abscondere (to conceal). Earliest documented use: 1392.
For 2, 3: Of uncertain origin. Earliest documented use: 1567.
For 4: From Dutch schans (entrenchment). Earliest documented use: 1587.
USAGE:
“You’ll want to snap photos of wish-list pieces like wall sconces, fireplace grilles, and sculptures.”
Joanne Latimer; Montreal: Griffintown; Chatelaine (Toronto, Canada); May 2013.”I shaved my head! My noggin, my sconce, my bean.”
Gary J. Whitehead; Shaving Cream on My Pate Became Icing on the Cake; The Christian Science Monitor (Boston, Massachusetts); Aug 19, 2002.
ITALIAN TRANSLATION:
1. Candeliere da parete, candeliere
2. Fortino, ridotta

mortify

PRONUNCIATION: (MOR-tuh-fy)

MEANING:

verb tr.:
1. To humiliate, shame, or embarrass.
2. To discipline (one’s body) by self-denial, self-inflicted suffering, etc.

verb intr.:
1. To endure self-denial, self-inflicted pain, etc.
2. To become gangrened or necrosed.

ETYMOLOGY:
From Latin mortificare (to kill). Ultimately from the Indo-European root mer- (to rub away or to harm) that is also the source of morsel, premorse, mordant, morbid, mortal, mortgage, nightmare, amaranth, and ambrosia. Earliest documented use: 1382.
USAGE:
“Kate Bannan is mortified by her son’s conviction for drink-driving.”
Keith McLeod; Barry Bannan’s Mum; Daily Record (Glasgow); Dec 23, 2011.

“You can only understand why he mortified himself and renounced all pleasures if you have lived a long time.”
Fanny Howe; Outremer; Poetry (Chicago); Sep 2011.

ITALIAN TRANSLATION

1. Andare in cancrena, necrotizzarsi
2.Mortificare, umiliare, avvilire
3. Mortificare, reprimere (istinti, appetiti, etc)

Leave a Reply

