Terms of endearment

rain_tears_by_thecherryking-d35u3ay

Rain Tears by Kevin TheCherryKing

Howdy, folks!

Today my post opens with a title that has a particular meaning to me. A light bulb went off in my head as soon as I read the definition of today’s word by A.W.A.D. … going off with my good mood!

You might think that this word would suggest tenderness and love, but those of you in your forties (and prone to sentimentalism) will probably understand the reason of my mood twist …

hypocorism

PRONUNCIATION:
(hy-POK-uh-riz-uhm, hi-)
MEANING:
noun
1. A pet name.
2. The practice of using pet names. *
ETYMOLOGY:
>From Greek hypokorisma (pet name), from hypo- (under) + kor- (child). Ultimately from Indo-European root ker- (to grow), which is also the source of other words such as increase, recruit, crew, crescent, cereal, concrete, crescendo, sincere, and Spanish crecer (to grow). Earliest documented use: 1850.
USAGE:
“This must be an offshoot of my brother’s enthusiasm for hypocorism. He was always inventing idiotic nicknames for people.”
Adam Davies; Goodbye Lemon; Riverhead; 2006.
ITALIAN TRANSLATION: (Ling) ipocoristico m.
(*) See more detailed definition in Wikipedia
It was the year 1981 when my father died of brain cancer at the age of 38. That f*****g disease took him away in 17 months and left us in complete despair. I did not actually overcome my pain and I still cannot manage it properly. I know it’s not the place to vent out my grief, but this is a necessary part of my explanation. A few years later I came to watch a film, Terms of endearment, featuring some of my favourite actors (it had a stellar cast actually!). For those who don’t know the movie, it’s the story of the difficult relationship between a mother, Aurora (Shirley MacLaine), and her daughter Emma (Debra Winger). The plot is emotionally intense, sometimes a bit weepy, and the ending is definitely tragic: Emma discovers she’s suffering from breast cancer that will lead her to death in a few months. In a moving scene, she says farewell to her children trying to be as reassuring and calm as possible and eventually leaves them in the care of her mother Aurora in spite of the tense relationship she had with her. I remember I cried a lot in the end – though avoiding blatant sentimentality, the movie truly hit a raw nerve. I couldn’t watch it again and I still can’t – as I told, I still cannot manage the grief in spite of the long time passed since my father’s departure.
If you are not too sentimental or easily moved (and patient too, the film is quite long, after all it spans 3 decades!), you should watch it. It’s a good movie – as far as I remember – and its cast of characters is terrific. So long as you can find it in stores or in some ‘vintage’  programme schedule, of course!
Good hunt!
Your passionate (Italian) Translator

P.S. In order to counterbalance the ‘weepiness’ of this post, I chose a humorous illustration. Its title (Rain tears) reminds me of a weepy song (‘Rain and Tears‘ by the Aphrodite’s Child) , but the image is colourful and witty. When I saw it, I imagined myself pouring tons of metaphorical tears on you, my poor readers, I hope you’ll appreciate my sense of humour!

Leave a Reply

